Dispensaries Near Me in Illinois
Recreational marijuana dispensaries in Illinois as well as for medical use are now both legal in the state. Open dispensaries that are already participating in the Illinois medical marijuana program are the first shops to sell recreational weed, concentrates, and edibles. Several new cannabis stores will also be opening soon to service the adult use market.
Recreational Cannabis Rules For Adults Only
Yes, recreational weed in Illinois for adult use has been legalized via The Illinois Cannabis Regulation & Tax Act. It’s now legal to go to the store, no card, no cops, and buy a range of CBD and THC products right off the shelf. As of January 1, 2020, anyone over the age of 21 can legally purchase cannabis for recreational use.
Possession limit for Illinois residents:
- 30 grams of cannabis flower.
- 5 grams of cannabis concentrate.
- 500 milligrams of THC contained in a cannabis-infused product.
- People may possess more than 30 grams of cannabis if it is grown and secured in their home under certain conditions.
Possession limit for non-Illinois residents:
- 15 grams of cannabis flower;
- 2.5 grams of cannabis;
- 250 milligrams of THC contained in a cannabis-infused product.
- The possession limits are to be considered cumulative.
Illinois Dispensary Directory By City
Illinois Marijuana Guide
Illinois Regulated Cannabis Program Overview
Type of program: Medical and Recreational
Illinois has a very colorful history when it comes to marijuana and the story has unfolded over the course of eight decades.
Cannabis was prohibited in 1931. However, in 1978 it was officially legalized for medicinal use by lawmakers in Illinois. The bold move was eventually cast aside due to the anti-drug sentiments of health and law enforcement officials.
The Illinois Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act (Compassionate Use Act) was signed on August 1, 2013, by Governor Quinn and became official on Jan. 1, 2014.
Since that date, the Medical Cannabis Patient Program has registered 147,000 qualifying patients in Illinois’ medical cannabis and opioid alternative programs.
The State of Illinois issued preliminary licenses to eighteen marijuana cultivation centers in March 2015. The centers were then permitted to construct facilities, hire staff and buy and install equipment.
The Medical Cannabis Patient Program (MCPP) was also implemented in 2015 and allowed qualifying patients to purchase and consume medical marijuana products sold in licensed dispensaries.
PTSD was added by a judge, to the list of qualifying conditions in June 2016. Subsequently, a proposal attempt was made for the addition of migraine, osteoarthritis, and a few other conditions, but was vetoed.
In 2018, Illinois’ medical marijuana program was expanded to include a number of new qualifying conditions. One of the new measures was to allow medical marijuana as an alternative to opiods in an attempt to stem the epidemic of addiction and overdose in the state. Fingerprinting and criminal background checks were also eliminated from the application process, making the process far less intimidating.
In July of 2016, Illinois decriminalized marijuana making possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana punishable by a $100 to $200 fine.
May 31, 2019, Illinois became the 11th state to legalize marijuana and the first state in the nation to legalize recreational marijuana via the state legislature rather than ballot initiative. The Illinois General Assembly passed the Illinois Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act. The program officially launched on January 1, 2020.
Recreational-use revenue in Illinois is expected to reach an estimated $1.6 billion a year.
Illinois was the first state in the U.S. to implement a social equity provision, which would effectively expunge the records of 700,000 residents previously charged with marijuana-related offenses. Governor Pritzker announced on December 31, 2020, that 9,210 pardons were granted for low-level cannabis convictions. Furthermore, the governor then expunged 492,000 arrest records for non-felony marijuana-related offenses.
The Illinois State Police, in alliance with the state of Illinois, hopes to complete the expungement process by the year 2025.
Marijuana doctors in Illinois
In Illinois, for a physician or health care practitioner to prescribe medical marijuana they must be an MD, Doctor of osteopathy, advanced practice nurse, or a physician assistant.
The following statements must be true: The healthcare practitioner must:
- Have a legitimate ongoing relationship with a qualifying patient, not limited solely to obtaining a written recommendation for a medical marijuana license.
- Must be responsible for the ongoing care of the patient’s qualifying condition.
- Must be willing to conduct a full, in-person assessment and diagnosis of the patient’s current condition and medical history, prior to the HealthCare professional certification examination.
- Certify that the qualifying patient is under the Health Care Professional’s care, either for the qualifying patient’s primary care or for his or her debilitating medical condition or symptoms of a debilitating medical condition.
List of Illinois medical marijuana doctors
Marijuana dispensaries in Illinois
At the time of publication, there are 55 medical marijuana dispensaries throughout the state of Illinois in the larger metropolitan areas including, Rockford, Chicago, Naperville, Joliet, and Springfield.
As of January 2020, marijuana for recreational use was available for purchase in Illinois. Dozens of new stores, cultivators, processors, and transporters were granted licenses in mid-2020.
It is predicted that by 2022, 295 dispensaries could be operating in Illinois, according to Marijuana Business Daily. The final decision to allow dispensaries to operate will be dictated by county and municipal governments.
Illinois medical marijuana dispensaries
Marijuana products available in Illinois
In the state of Illinois, dispensaries are offering the following marijuana products:
- Vape oils
Marijuana Deliveries RX: Available
Purchase and possession limits
Adults (recreational users) over the age of 21 may purchase a maximum of 30 grams of marijuana; 5 grams of cannabis concentrate; and 500 milligrams of THC in edibles (100mg max each) at any one time.
In the state of Illinois, Adults over the age of 18, or parents of children with epilepsy, who have applied for and received an Illinois Medical Marijuana card are allowed to purchase Medical Marijuana products in any combination up to 2.5 ounces every 2 weeks.
Visitors to the state may purchase half of those amounts.
How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Illinois
Once a certified doctor has made a recommendation for the program the patient must fill out the medical cannabis application form. Patients must indicate the dispensary they will be buying from, however, they can change dispensaries at any given time.
An application fee must accompany your application. Fees are $100 for a card good for one year, or $200 for two years, or $250 for three years. For veterans and patients with disabilities applications fees are halved.
On February 1, 2019, IDPH began issuing provisional (temporary) access registration cards to persons who apply on-line for the Medical Cannabis Patient Program.
Renew an Illinois medical marijuana card
In Illinois, there are two types of renewals for medical marijuana cards: an incremental card that is good for one year. This is for patients who didn’t buy a three-year card when they first registered. For this type of renewal, no doctor certification is required.
Patients whose three-year medical marijuana card has expired will need a re-certification from their healthcare practitioner.
Patients holding a one-year incremental card will be notified by IDPH approximately 45 days prior to the expiration date with a courtesy letter regarding your extension renewal. Patients with a three-year card will receive a letter from IDPH five months prior to the expiration date along with a Physician Written Certification.
Illinois medical marijuana qualifying conditions:
In order to obtain an Illinois medical marijuana card, patients must be terminally ill or have one of the following conditions:
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Anorexia nervosa
- Arnold-Chiari malformation
- Cachexia/wasting syndrome
- Chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- CRPS (complex regional pain syndrome Type II)
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Fibrous Dysplasia
- Hepatitis C
- Interstitial cystitis
- Irritable bowel syndrome
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Myasthenia Gravis
- Nail-patella syndrome
- Neuro-Bechet’s autoimmune disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Polycystic kidney disease (PKD)
- Post-Concussion Syndrome
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Reflex sympathetic dystrophy
- Residual limb pain
- Rheumatoid arthritis
- Seizures (including those characteristic of Epilepsy)
- Severe fibromyalgia
- Sjogren’s syndrome
- Spinal cord disease (including but not limited to arachnoiditis)
- Spinal cord injury is damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- Spinocerebellar ataxia
- Superior canal dehiscence syndrome
- Tarlov cysts
- Tourette syndrome
- Traumatic brain injury
- Ulcerative colitis
- Conditions that could have opioids prescribed
To obtain a medical marijuana license in Illinois a patient must be at least 18 years of age.
All medical marijuana patients in Illinois have the option of designating a caregiver to assist in procuring or administering marijuana. If the patient is a minor under the age of 18, they may have two caregivers, if both are legal guardians or parents with decision-making abilities and responsibilities for the patient or charge.
All designated caregivers must be over the age of 21. ID cards cost $75 if the caregiver applies at the same time as the patient, $100 if the application is done separately.
All medical-marijuana caregivers may purchase and possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana from licensed dispensaries within a two-week period.
Illinois regulations for medical marijuana evaluations via telemedicine are evolving. Currently, prospective medical marijuana patients are permitted to have their evaluation conducted via teleconference.
In the state of Illinois, the private information of registered medical marijuana patients is confidential.
Marijuana-related DUI laws in Illinois
In Illinois, there is an existing law stating that anyone driving a motor vehicle with a THC blood concentration of five nanograms or more per milliliter is guilty of driving while impaired. The Illinois State Police are leading a taskforce to determine the best practices for roadside testing.
The penalties are the same as for an alcohol-related DUI.
Transporting cannabis in Illinois
In Illinois it is legal to transport marijuana in your car, however, it must remain sealed in the original packaging and be out of arm’s reach of the driver.
Public consumption laws in Illinois
It is legal to smoke in one’s own home and on-site in some cannabis-related businesses.
Use is prohibited in:
- Any public place, such as streets or parks
- In any motor vehicle
- On school grounds, with the exception of medical users
- In the presence of someone under the age of 21
- In the presence of an on-duty school bus driver, police officer, firefighter, or corrections officer
- At colleges and universities
All property owners or landlords may prohibit the consumption of marijuana on their property.
Social consumption is legal in some places in Illinois.
In early 2020, the Springfield City Council gave approval for its first marijuana-consumption lounge at Illinois Supply and Provisions. The lounge will provide a safe and hassle-free place for adults over the age of 21 to consume state-sanctioned marijuana products.
Home cultivation: allowed for medical marijuana patients
In Illinois medical marijuana patients are allowed to grow up to five plants for personal use. The plants must be out of public view and renters must receive permission from their landlord. Growing without a medical marijuana card is prohibited and comes with a $200 fine.
Illinois marijuana and guns
Although marijuana is legal in the state of Illinois, it is still Federally prohibited, as it is considered to be a Schedule I controlled substance. Gun ownership is illegal if you consume medical marijuana
Illinois hemp and CBD laws
All hemp flower, hemp-derived CBD, and other hemp products are legal for individuals over the age of 21 in the state of Illinois.
Illinois medical marijuana information
- On-line Medical Cannabis Registry Application
- Debilitating Conditions ·
- COVID-19 and Medical Cannabis
- Opioid Alternative Pilot Program
- Application Help (FREE)
- Debilitating Conditions
- COVID-19 Medical Cannabis Guidance
- Lost or Stolen Card
- Medical Cannabis Patient Application
- Minor Qualifying Patients
- Terminal Illness
- MCPP Registry Card Fees
- Select a Medical Cannabis Dispensary
- Change Your Application Information
- Health Care Professional Information
- MCPP Veterans Requirements
- Petition to Add Debilitating Conditions
- Extending Your Registry Card
- Reports and Program Statistics
- Synthetic Cannabinoids
- Medical Cannabis Dispensary Sale Surcharge Exemption Form
- Application for a Designated Caregiver Registry Identification Card
- Caregiver Attestation
- Photo Affidavit